Teen Board

The Oklahoma Heritage Association Teen Board offers students the opportunity to promote pride in the community and state, while at the same time learn valuable real-world skills. Students also have the opportunity to meet notable Oklahomans and participate in Association and Museum programming. The Teen Board is responsible for planning and implementing an annual fundraiser to benefit the education programs of the Association and Museum. 

These high school students are chosen to serve on the board after an application and interview process, and work throughout their term to promote the mission of the Association and Museum. Students serve a term from August through April, with their annual fundraiser taking place in March. To apply for the board, students must be in grades 9 through 12 in Oklahoma. It's preferred that students have previous leadership and volunteer experience, either through school or another organization. In addition to attending monthly meetings in the fall and twice-monthly meetings in the spring, each member of the Teen Board is responsible for serving on a committee, raising sponsorship dollars and in-kind donations. Though the commitment to serve on the board officially begins in the fall, several social events will take place over the summer to help students get to know each other.

Questions about the program can be directed to Shelley Rowan at 405.523.3208 or sbr@oklahomaheritage.com.